We use cookies to provide you with the best possible experience on our website. By utilising our website you agree to the placement of cookies on your device
Held • Burggraben 25 - 27 • Franziskanerplatz • A-6020 Innsbruck • Tirol • Tel. / Fax: +43 (0) 512 / 58 63 27 • E-Mail: info@held-innsbruck.at
 

Company Profile

 
On the 28th September 1892 the Innsbruck merchant Fritz MAYR opened a hat fashion parlor by the same name in the Burggraben. In 1898 after the death of Fritz MAYR his wife had to sell the business. The buyer was Friedrich HELD Sen., who ran the business with his wife. The main products at this time along with headwear (top hats, bowler hats etc.) were underwear (made to measure), stiff shirt collars, cuffs and ties
 
During the First World War his wife managed the company. Then came the glory days for headwear, as every man owned at least one hat. At that time though there were lots of hat suppliers in Tyrol’s capital city. Even so the Fritz MAYR Company was able to evolve into the largest milliner’s shop in Tyrol.
 
Before the Second World War his son, Friedrich HELD Jnr. took over the company along with his wife, who again took over the management during the war.
 
After his early death his son, Albert HELD, took over the management of the firm. He was assisted by his mother, the wife of Friedrich HELD Jnr., Margarethe HELD: Albert Held took his Advanced Level school exams in 1968 at a commercial college in Innsbruck and had to take over his parents’ company in 1971 after only 3 years of practical training abroad on the death of his father.
 
One of his biggest decisions was the establishment of hat production in 1979. As no training was available in Tyrol he had to learn this skill abroad and from specialist books. As head of the specialist group of milliners he was one of the last three milliners in Tyrol at this time.
 
In 1987 – so 95 years after the founding of the business – the company was renamed from FRITZ MAYR to HELD. At the same time Albert HELD opened a small specialist department for fishing equipment in the shop. As fishing has been the family’s hobby since great-grandfather’s days this decision was applauded by the county’s fishing fraternity.
 
In 2012 the management of the business passed to his son Lorenz HELD, who together with his father Albert HELD founded the HELD KG and heads this to date. Hence the fourth generation of the Held family is presently actively involved in the family business.
 
Since January 2015, the business form has been transformed into a single company, which is now managed by Lorenz HELD.

Held • Burggraben 25 - 27 • Franziskanerplatz • A-6020 Innsbruck • Tirol • Tel. / Fax: +43 (0) 512 / 58 63 27 • E-Mail: info@held-innsbruck.at
 

Firma Held

 
Am 28. September 1892 eröffnete der Innsbrucker Kaufmann Fritz MAYR am Burggraben den gleichnamigen Hut-Modesalon. Schon 1898 musste seine Witwe nach dem Tod von Herrn Fritz MAYR das Geschäft verkaufen. Der Käufer war Friedrich HELD sen., welcher den Betrieb gemeinsam mit seiner Frau führte. Die Hauptartikel zu dieser Zeit waren neben den Kopfbedeckungen (Zylinder, Melonen usw.) auch Unterwäsche (Maßanfertigungen), steife Hemdenkrägen, Manschette und Krawatten.
 
Während des 1. Weltkrieges führte seine Frau die Firma. Danach begann eine Blütezeit der Kopfbedeckung, da jeder Mann zu mindestens einen Hut hatte. Es gab damals aber auch sehr viele Anbieter von Hüten in der Hauptstadt Tirols. Trotzdem war es der Firma Fritz MAYR möglich, sich zum größten Hutfachgeschäft Tirols zu entwickeln.
 
Vor dem 2. Weltkrieg übernahm sein Sohn, Friedrich HELD jun., die Firma zusammen mit seiner Frau, welche während des Krieges wieder die Firmenleitung innehatte.
 
Nach dessen frühen Tod übernahm sein Sohn, Albert HELD, die Leitung des Betriebes. Unterstützt wurde er von seiner Mutter, die Frau von Friedrich HELD jun., Margarethe HELD. Albert Held maturierte 1968 an der Innsbrucker Handelsakademie und musste nach nur 3 Jahren Auslandspraktikum schon im Jahr 1971 nach dem Tode seines Vaters den elterlichen Betrieb übernehmen.
 
Eine große Entscheidung von Albert HELD war die Aufnahme der Hutproduktion im Jahre 1979. Nachdem es in Tirol keine Ausbildung gab, musste er sich diese Fähigkeit im Ausland und aus Fachbüchern aneignen. Als Fachgruppenvorsteher der Hutmacher war er zu dieser Zeit einer der 3 letzten Hutmacher Tirols.
 
Im Jahr 1987 – also 95 Jahre nach der Geschäftsgründung – wurde die Firma von FRITZ MAYR auf HELD umbenannt. Zum gleichen Zeitpunkt eröffnete Albert HELD in den Geschäftsräumen auch eine kleine Fachabteilung für Fischereibedarf. Nachdem die Fischerei schon seit Urgroßvaters Zeiten das Hobby der Familie ist, ist diese Entscheidung bei den Petrijüngern des Landes sehr gut aufgenommen worden.
 
Im Jahre 2012 ging die Geschäftsleitung an seinen Sohn Lorenz HELD über, der zusammen mit seinem Vater Albert HELD die HELD KG gründete und diese bis dato leitet. Somit ist aktuell die vierte Generation der Familie Held im Familienunternehmen tätig.
 
Seit dem Jänner 2015 wurde die Geschäftsform wieder in ein Einzelunternehmen umgewandelt, welches nun alleine von Lorenz HELD geführt wird.